Yet Another Grain Free Sugar Free Cookie: Chip-A-Hoy

cookie_monster

Personally, the goal of a great grain free cookie is not to create a healthfood version of a Chips Ahoy.

I make Cookie treats… enthusiastically.

cookie_me

Any treat does not demand a moderation is not worth eating in the first place.

The goal is create from foods that tastes amazing in a solo state.

Examples:

  • Coconut
  • Almond
  • Cacao
  • Ghee
  • Maple
  • Egg
  • Vanilla
  • Salt
  • Butter
Not the Gluten Free Flava'  I am going for

Not the Gluten Free Flava’ I am going for

That being said here is an unintentional version of a Chips Ahoy Chewie.

I am a big fan of kitchen hacks. Here is my newest favorite.

Gluten Free Girl’s reliable cookie ratio. 1-2-3

  • 1 part sweet
  • 2 parts fat
  • 3 parts flour

Here is my 1st small test recipe.

  • 20 gm sweet = 20 gm coconut sugar, 20 gm maple syrup
  • 80 gm fat = 20 gm coconut oil, 20 gm ghee, 40 gm almond butter
  • 120 gm flour = 100 gm almond flour, 20 coconut flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 ts Vanilla bean powder or 1/2 ts extract
  • 1/2 ts baking soda (the tastes good alone exception)
  • 3 finger pinch salt
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips (I just busted up a dark chocolate bar)

Throw all this in a bowl.

cookie_ingrideints

Mix well.

cookie_prep

Scoop one table spoon balls on to greased or parchment covered baking tray. Flatten with your palm.

cookie_tray

Bake a 350º for 12 minutes.

Let cool and enjoy.

cookie_final

Mine turned out pretty well. Right level of salt, good outside crisp with that inside gooey chewy. Next round I am going to tray a flour ratio that will dial down the density and mix the dough in a food processor. I hope this might up the fluff.

I was not going for a Chip-A-Hoy facsimile, but nostalgia kicked in and I could call them little else.

The difference between these and the Nabisco original? Two and I was satisfied.

gooey-caramelJesus, when did they fill them with caramel. Another day Sean… another day.

Eat whole food, all else will follow.

Comment Maybe?

