Coffee…. Bullet Proofed

guns_coffee

Bullet Proof Coffee (BPC), it is a hot topic. I decided to try it.

4 mornings, 4 fats, and a pinch of salt.

Real quick though. How does one make coffee bullet proof?

  1. Grind Coffee (starting from whole beans is always ideal flavorwise)
  2. Brew coffee (I like a ratio of 1 cup (240 ml)  filtered H2O for every table spoon of whole beans)
  3. Pour coffee in blender with added fat source
  4. Blend until emulsified (about 15 seconds) pour and enjoy

Kerrygold Butter Classic: The Cream that Lingers

BPC_butter2

After some causal research I found that the cultured cream hot bevrage is no cultural oddity. Spiced butter is common in coffee in Ethiopia and Tibetan monks have been throwing yak butter in tea for quite some time.

Monk_in_Tashilhunpo3

It’s called po cha, and I want some… but for now.

I don’t really dabble in dairy often, but since coffee and Kerrygold are the classic BPC jam I will  put a pat of butter in my morning black.

Recipe:

  • 1 cup (240 ml)  filtered H2O
  • 1 Tbs (12 gm) coffee beans
  • 1 heaped ts Kerrygold butter
  • Two finger pinch salt

BPC_butter

This one was surprisingly mellow. Satisfying fatty mouth feel but with that lactose linger that sort of coats the mouth, of which i am not a fan. Not an all together pleasing compliment to the slightly sour linger of good coffee. I can see why the recipe usually calls for 2-3 tablespoons; the coffee is gone all together after that much cream

Ghee: The Vadic Version

This Recipe seemed a natural follow up to the butter BPC. All the same but heavier in that mouth feel.

BPC_ghee2

Recipe:

  • 1 cup (240 ml)  filtered H2O
  • 1 Tbs (12 gm) coffee beans
  • 1 heaped ts pastured ghee
  • Two finger pinch salt

BPC_ghee

Unlike its lactose rich Kerrygold cousin, ghee produce no tasty foam. Foam must have something to do with the lactose left in butter, huh?

This cup was all about the creamy feel. If you like the flavor of ghee you will likely dig it because that flavor comes through… strongly. Ghee also did not produce that lingering dairy coating I got from the butter… for me, this was nice. I think ghee is screaming to be fetured in a bullet proof dirty chai someday.

Coconut Oil: Lovely Vegan Velvet

BPC_cocooil2

The Vegan Version has been my standard morning go to for a few months now. I do not notice an energy burst beyond what I experience with straight black coffee. The flavor effects are quite nice, thats what keeps me coming back.

Recipe:

  • 1 cup (240 ml)  filtered H2O
  • 1 Tbs (12 gm) coffee beans
  • 1 heaped ts unrefined coconut oil
  • Two finger pinch salt

BPC_cocooil

There is still that nice smooth fatty feelin’ that the human tongue loves, but not a thick and decadent as Kerrygold butter or ghee. The subtle background notes of the tropical tree nut make for a mild coco finish to every sip. By far the lightest feeling BPC I tried, I’m gonna call it Rubber Bullet Proof Coffee.

2 Egg Yolk: No Joke

This BPC recipe from Marks Daily Apple scared me at first. “For culinary science,” I told myself.

“Crack, Crack.”

BPC_egg2

Recipe:

  • 1 cup (240 ml)  filtered H2O
  • 1 Tbs (12 gm) coffee beans
  • 2 pastured egg yolks
  • Two finger pinch salt

BPC_egg

Incredibly foamy, impossible frothy, and by far the most nutrient dense BPC recipe I tried. Background eggy notes are there though not nearly as unappetizing as I would have thought (especially with that pinch of salt). The foam tasted mildly of Tiramisu (big surprise).

Less of the creamy feeling of butter or ghee, but a more complimenting flavor. Salmonella concerns? I am pretty sure the boiling coffee cooked the egg.

I do not think I would do this one every morning though, pastured eggs are pricey.

There are a lot of optional add ins for BPC, including, cocao powder, alternative sweetners, gelatin, Medium-chain triglycerides (MCT) oils.

I left these out because I am not looking to replace breakfast. I wanted to determine the effects of fat on coffee’s flavor

My personal verdict. Coconut oil for both feeling and flavor was my favorite of the four. It felt light, it felt right.

The two egg yolk BPC was some foamy fun, a good culinary parlor trick for when friendly brunches are afoot. The froth was down right delectable.

The buttery options just felt a tad heavy. Considering the traditional BPC calls for a tablespoon (or 4) rather than a teaspoon… well I am just not ready to start my day with such a creamy beast.

Maybe on Christmas.

julia

“If you’re afraid of butter, use cream.”

– Julia Child

Comment Maybe?

