PREAM, or Pickles Rule Everything Around ME

My sister asked me a very valid question yesterday. “Why is everything around you pickled?”
dilly

To answer, fermenting is an endlessly entertaining combination of chemistry, health, and flavor. Each batch of fermented veggie/tea/grain or (Dare I) meat I make is a scientific exploration of the best kind.

amazake

The edible kind.

cf048724de8611e2b45022000a1fb3cd_7

My body is a ship for billions kindly bacterial travellers. A man shaped Carnival Cruiseliner, complete with unlimited buffet, plenty of leisure, and a well maintained waterslide. Together we happily sail through the day feasting on probiotics.

By comparsion, many sad sailors are travelling on decrepit slave galleons, forcing their pour gut flora to work hard hours, in the dank fiberless bowels of their bowels. They subsist meagre rations of occasional yoghurt and pasteurized dills.

284fe8b4decd11e2893922000aeb0bbd_7

So I surround myself with ferments, cultural reflections of my internal culture.

lexiconbig

Culturing is my culture, and for most of our brief existence it has been the human culture. Only recently the human gut had to settle for the a society pasteurized.

Screenshot from 2013-07-11 13:51:38

And yes… I can pickle that.

Screenshot from 2013-07-11 13:51:11

Keep Guts Alive, Remember 3 and 5

Sauerkraut Recipe:
– 3 tablespoons seasalt
– 5 pounds cabbage

One Comment on “PREAM, or Pickles Rule Everything Around ME”

  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say
    that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!


Comment Maybe?

