Dietary Reflection, or 360 in 365

The only constant is change, I don’t know who said it but I do believe.

Screenshot from 2013-07-05 07:48:01

Last July 4th I was a raw vegan, I enjoyed a hot dog comprised of walnuts, sundried tomatoes, EVOO, and good many other veggies/spices (a recipe I still make). I thrived on this diet for a year but hit a digestive wall last August. It took 4 months to get over.

Last September. Lowest weight of my life

Last September. Lowest weight of my life

One year later however, at the Grassroots Crossfit anniversary potluck my 4th of July BBQ plate was more traditional.

Things paleos do: Bring their Crock Pot to crossfit

Things paleos do: Bring their Crock Pot to crossfit

Piled high with homemade kraut, pickles, ketchup, along with to grass-fed burgers, fritata muffins (thx Lacy), more veggie dishes worth listing, and a silky wedge of astounding fermented macadamia nut brie (thx again Lacy). All topped with a healthy sauce of realism.

The perfect after BLAKE (which I sorta killed 🙂 ) buffet.

Screenshot from 2013-07-05 07:11:49

Last July 4 I would have put the chances of me eating meat again up there with shark attacks and lightning strikes. But a health nose dive was just around the corner back then. Nothing in life is certain. Eating meat again after 5 years veganism has lead me to ease up on any thoughts of finality.

Making Cashew milk at Coracao last week

Making Cashew milk at Coracao last week

Still, I continue to eat with respect for animals, I hope will forever.

O, and I still love green smoothies.

Comment Maybe?

