Osso Bucco Lamb, or How I Learned to Braise

Stemple Ranch; I hope the lambs have get life style

Stemple Ranch; I hope the lambs have get life style

At the last Coracao Staff meeting I publicly embrace my desire to become a chef. Daniel lent me a copy of the 4-Hour Chef by Tim Ferris. For a lark I am doing the 8 week cooking challenge.

Steve O + Bourdain   - 1/2 coolness = Ferriss

Steve O + Bourdain – 1/2 coolness = Ferriss

Challenge: Two meals with friends per week prepared by me

Stakes: Failure by next Staff meeting (August 1st) means two weeks of Crossfit Probation, sorry Grassroots.

Recipe #1: Osso Bucco Braised Shanks on a Veggie Bed.

Procured some gear I did not have, I.E. A cast iron lid for my lodge 12″ skillet (over due purchase really), some less valuable olive oil, canned tomatoes (first can I have used in a while), and of course ethical shanks from the Local Butcher. Already a $40 meal…sorry wallet.

Mr. Ferris’s aim is simplicity. My friend cancelled on me; here are the ingredients for a one man version:

bocco

– 1 lamb shank
– 8 0z. whole tomatoes
– white wine to half cover the lamb shanks (I subbed veggie stock)
– bed of carrots (and i added one sweet potato)
– 3 finger pinch garlic powder or 2 cloves pressed
– 2 TBS EVOO
– salt + pepper to taste

Did the prep work, carrots and a sweet potato scrubbed chopped rough, and bedding the cast iron.

prep

Added shank, tomatoes, garlic, EVOO, salt, and pepper.

finish

Stuck it in the oven for 2 hours at 350 degrees.

In the interim got some stock brewing, and finished of some ferment experiments.

Grundru Tibetan Greens, Stock, Pickled Nopal Cactus Pedal

Grundru Tibetan Greens, Stock, Pickled Nopal Cactus Pedal

Pulled it from the oven finished with some Lemon zest, some more pepper, and a bit of the really good EVOO with the peppery bite.

cooked

Verdict: It was pretty alright (a good pairing for an episode of Game of Thrones) but I am glad I saved a shank. The idea was to get comfy with braising… so mission accomplished. I would go less time as the veggies were a little soggy. Next time I am going to try a simple mirepoix and some rosemary. I think that might take it all the way to bomb.

Comment Maybe?

