You can not Taste Health, but you can Share it

Sprout Avo Salad with pickled beets, liver pate, and raw vegan walnut jerky

My journey as an eater in one meal: Salad with sprouts, avo, home pickled beets, liver pate, and raw vegan walnut jerky

I read a post from Cultured Pickle Shop’s blog that made me re-examine why I love preparing, providing, and eating good food.

A customer of theirs had this to say about his pickle purchase. “I don’t eat this because I enjoy it, I eat it because it’s good for me. It’s not ice cream.”

Raw, sugar free and Vegan, but not a pickle

Raw, sugar free, but yes… not a pickle

I get wrapped up in the healthfulness of food, but I never consume anything purely for health. Quite the opposite.

Raw Vegan Girl Scout Samoa

Raw Vegan Girl Scout Samoa

My meals are consistently delicious.

Tahini Butter "Paleo Bread"

Tahini Butter “Paleo Bread

Each time I create a meal, I am driven to play with flavor and form.

I share the chocolate I help create, I share my home ferments liberally, and I am still a lonely foodie.

chilling with our Chocolate at the Coracao Farmers Market Booth

chilling with our Chocolate at the Coracao Farmers Market Booth

After all that sharing I go home and eat a delicious dinner for one. It is organic, pastured, grainless, glutenless, and devoid of processed foods, but it is also devoid of company. I fear foods outside my own creation and control… sigh*

Joy is best shared.

Dilly Beets, Kombucha, Pickles, and Root Kraut

Dilly Beets, Kombucha, Pickles, and Root Kraut

Here is one lonely foodies fresh effort. A recipe for pickle beets. After two weeks, the flavor the brine alone left me breathless.

Dilly Beets

What you need:
– A Couple of clean 16 once jars (Kerr of=r Ball perhaps?)
– A Knife
– A Cutting Board
– A Mixing Bowl or pot for Brine
– Ya’ Mitts

Ingredients:
– Two soft ball sized beets or the equivalent in smaller beets
– Brine (Ratio: little under 1/4 cup sea salt to 4 cups water)
– 2 Cloves Garlic for each jar
– Dill (fresh of dried), one tablespoon for each jar
– Caraway Seeds, Mustard seed, grape leave, what ever herb or spice you like in whatever amount seems appropriate. Experiment, enjoy the experiment

Beet no Pictured... I ate 'em

Beet no Pictured… I ate ’em

Steps:

1) To make a Brine by dissolving sea salt in room temp water, 4 cups brine should be enough to this project.
2) Peel beets, Matchstick chop into one centimetre wide sticks
3) Put 2 cloves (or more if it do ya) in the bottom of the jar along with dill, coriander, and what ever other spices you would like your dilly beets to absorb.
4) Pour in brine until beet are submerged
5) Place a smaller jar lid or clean stone on top to keep the beets submerged, Lid them and let them sit in a shady corner or cabinet for 1-4 weeks
6) Check every few days, if any mold is the top do not fret, just scrape it off. After 1-4 weeks depending on heat and your own flavor prefferance, throw them in the fridge to cease the fermentation.

I have stripped this recipe to its bare bones. Really you only need three things, water, sea salt, and good local beets.

Standard Kerr Jars a Tried, Cheap, and True

Standard Kerr Jars a Tried, Cheap, and True

Well… four things. You need to enjoy food, you need to love flavor enough to attempt to cultivate your own, flavors to share with those you love. because when the ingredients are good and the intention is pure, the result is always more than edible.

“You don’t have to cook fancy or complicated masterpieces — just good food from fresh ingredients….I just hate health food.”
-Julia Childs

O Julia

O Julia

Comment Maybe?

