Safe Way to Shop Safeway

99cent_pop
When I find myself holding a food or foodish type item, wondering “Is this thing heathful… or just edible?,” I mentally refer to this map courtesy of Summer Tomato.

howtofindrealfoodatthesupermarket

I don’t agree with everything Summer Tomato recommends. I think food logs increase food anxiety in a ratio disproportionate with there helpfulness. I have tried calorie tracking, when you are eating whole food with out labels it is a headache. I am not going invest in a kitchen scale just yet. When eating foods without posted calories, calories appear to become less important (provided one is not washing down there macadamia nuts with almond butter or lard thrice per week).

This was tougher in Thailand last year, went more with senses

This was tougher in Thailand last year, went more with senses

I do like this mental map. With it in mind it is easy to navigate to a snack fit for human consumption.

Comment Maybe?

