Finally a Samoa for ME

samoa

Its been a bit sense I posted a recipe, I hope this one covers the lapse.

There was a time when Samoas were not only my favorite Girl Scout Cookie, but my favorite food. I have never been compulsive eater… but I downed a box of these coconut crusted rings of wonderful bi weekly during cookie season. Then… I went vegan and while I discovered an amazing world of flavors, every February I am confronted of the one partially hydrogenated bit of joy I left behind.

No MORE! Tonight I dine on RAW VEGAN COCONUT SOMOAS!

samoa_fin

This recipe is adapted from this one on fastpaleo.com and the Samoa taste is spot on. Chewy gooey top with a crunchy chocolate base these cookies have so much goin’ on its a wonder they confound the taste buds in a catatonic stupor.

I warn, this one is quite an under taking… but fortune flavors the brave so here we go.

Gear:
– food processor
– Three inch cookie cutter
– rolling pin
– wax paper

Da Cookie:
– 1 cup dried coconut shreds
– 1 cup raw walnuts
– pinch sea salt (This is KEY)
– 2.5 TBS MELTED coconut oil
– 2 TBS maple syrup, coco nectar, or honey

Blend dried coconut in food processor alone for a minute then slowly drop in walnuts until a semi coarse meal is formed. Then blend in melted coconut oil, sea salt, and maple syrup.

Mushy is OK as you can see

Mushy is OK as you can see

Roll dough out in-between 2 layers of wax paper so that it is about 1/4” thick, error on the thicker side to save yourself some crumbly headaches later.

samoa_roll

Firm it up in the freezer and use a round cookie cutter to cut your cookies, I then used a pairing knife to cut out the middle holes (Snacks). Reroll excess dough and firm it back up in the freezer to cut some-ora.

Coconut Caramel Layer:
– 8 medjool dates, or 10 – 12 of other date varieties
– 1 TBS water
– 2 TBS MELTED coconut oil
– pinch sea salt
– 1/2 cup dried coconut shreds
– 1 TBS carob or cacao powder

Blend dates with water in a food processor, add in coconut oil and make it pastey. Then add in sea salt and carob powder. and a little more water if needed.

samoa_caramel

Blend in 1/2 cup dried coconut. Mush coconut caramel onto each freezer firmed cookie then dip in remaining dried coconut.

samoa_layers

Chocolate Icing:
– Bars or chips of your favorite chocolate (don’t gotta be raw) melted double boiler style, mine was Coracao of course.

Melt down the chocolate in a metal or ceramic bowl nestled over a steam pot.

samoa_choc

Dunk the base of each cookie in the chocolate and place back in the freezer.

samoa_freeze

Final use a small spatula to drizzle some chocolaty ribbons over each finished ringlet of pure decadence.

Whew* there you have it. No quite as easy as grabbing a box outside a Safeway but so much more satisfying. And you did not even have to donate to a charity… I did buy some thin mints for my sis’s b-day.
Happy unrefined snacking.

5 Comments on “Finally a Samoa for ME”

  1. Hey there! You just started following my blog so I wanted to check out your blog and say, “Hi.” I have to tell you that Samoa’s used to be my favorite Girl Scout cookie too. I loved those suckers! Then I spent a couple of years working for Girl Scouts and we always had lots of cookies around and I got burnt out on all Girl Scout cookies for the longest time. I’m over being sick of GH cookies, but of course I’m vegan now. I might just have to try these, but not for awhile. I made cookies last night and I’m done with cookies for the time being. I’m so glad you’re following and I look forward to getting to know you better. I’m always excited to get to know another vegan.

    • Sean Jewell says:

      Thx, they are are a tough recipe but the taste is unbelievable. im sure the girl scout fav it is based of of would fail in a side by side taste off.

      PS im from san diego and love casa de luz. next ime your in town you gotta try peace pies

      • I’ve been to Peace Pies! I loved, loved, loved them – especially their desserts! I actually wrote a blog post about them. I’ve got to get my blog organized better so that my posts are easier to find – I’m going to work on that soon. Actually, one of my followers just asked me if I knew of any good vegan restaurants in San Diego. I know of a few, and I’m going to either write a post about them or just share them with her, but you probably know of even more than I do. If you’ve got any suggestions for her, I’m sure she’d love to hear about them. No pressure, of course, but here’s her blog address in case you want to connect with her about it. http://theveganwannabe.wordpress.com/

      • Sean Jewell says:

        I worked at Peace Pies, It is run by some amazing folks. I have a post about my fav eating spots in sd: https://sjewelln.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/san-diego-adventures-in-veggies/

        • How cool that you worked at Peace Pies! Do you know chef Celeste? I met her the day my husband and I ate there (I obviously couldn’t forget her name). Thanks for your link to the San Diego restaurants – I’ll post it in my SD restaurant post.


Comment Maybe?

