Who Put all this TAHINI in my Bread?!

And where’s tha Gluten Dammit!

xmas_dinner
Normally i am not a fan of the gluten free baked goods (especially with all these sweet and savory winter squash about right now). They are comprised an assortment of alternative gums and flours far more intimidating then a loaf of Sara Lee. use but made some very satisfying gluten free tahini bread last night. The ingredients list was sort of wacky but wholesome so I gave it a try. It turned out very moist, fluffy, and well.. bready. Thus I recommend it to the culinary daring.

Ingredients

1/2 c Coconut Flour (or wholewheat for a non gluten free version)
1/2 c Ground Flax
1 t Salt
1 t Baking Soda
6 Eggs (Pasture!)
1 T Vanilla
1/2 c Tahini
1/2 c Applesauce
3 T Maple Syrup (Grade B curtosiy of my friend Margrets Vermont roots)
1 T Cinammon
Dried Fruit n’ nuts of choice, I went with raisins and walnuts

Cooking Steps

Combine the dry ingredients. Add the eggs, applesauce, syrup, and tahini, beating until well combined. Pour batter into a greased loaf pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 40-50 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

tahini_bread

Enjoying a slice right now with my old friend cup O’ Joe. That and the flax outta give me quite the cleanse, happy nomining

